The Chaloner Memorial Trophy

The Council’s Highest Award for Service to Philately

The Council’s highest recognition award for service to Council Area philately was named for a Past President Henry Chaloner (President of the Council in 1946), who exemplified the character and the level and variety of activities in support of organized philately in our area. The award recognizes special individuals
who embody the qualities of service and leadership in philately in the Council area. The award was first given to Henry Chaloner in 1952, and later it was made into a memorial award in his name. The award has been made since 1951, so the Council
is on its fourth plaque in order to hold all the names! A picture of each plaque and the entire list of names is on the Council website.

The recipient’s name is engraved on a perpetual trophy plaque and presented with a small engraved plaque as a personal memento. Past President Akthem Al-Manaseer is holding the Chaloner plaque and 2014 winner Jim Dempsey is holding the personal plaque given to the recipient. Jim, together with the 2015 winners, Terri and Harvey Edwards are the Committee who make recommendations to the Council
Board for the 2016 award. The 2016 recipient will be announced at the annual Christmas Dinner of the Collectors Club of San Francisco.